After successfully completing the course and passing the examination the applicant must apply for a license through a sponsoring real estate broker. Application for a real estate license must be submitted to the Commission within one year of the date when the candidate successfully completes the 75-hour pre -licensure course…otherwise, the course must be taken again.
Real Estate Broker Licensing Requirements:
State Licensing Requirements
Additional Information: If you are a disabled United States Veteran and a citizen of New Jersey, it may be possible to secure waivers of the education and experience requirements for licensure. Please contact the New Jersey Commission's Education Waiver Section at 609-292-7272 Ext. 50137 for details.New Jersey does not have licensure reciprocity with any other state; however courses and experience taken in other states may qualify for waivers of the education and experience requirements in New Jersey:
Applicant must be 18 years of age or older.
Real Estate SHave a high school education or equivalency
Be a legal resident of the USA (citizen or other legal residency)
Successfully complete a 75-hour pre-licensure course at a licensed school
Pass the state license examination.
Applicant must have been continually licensed and employed on a full-time basis as a New Jersey real estate salesperson for the three years immediately preceding application. The Real Estate Commission has forms online for licensees to check their license history and to request a certification of licensure. Effective immediately, licensees who wish to verify their license history will need to complete the form and submit it to the Real Estate Licensing Unit for processing. This should be done prior to enrollment into broker classes as there is a processing time of approximately two weeks. Applicant must pass the state broker license examination.
Applicant must apply for, and request, the issuance of a license as a broker or broker-salesperson not later than one year after their
successful completion of the broker pre-licensure education requirements. After completion of all three courses applicants must submit to the Education Qualification Section of the Commission their completed school certificate and a completed Experience Report For Broker Applicant form. Following review and approval, the applicant will be mailed a Certificate of Examination Eligibility, which may be used to make a reservation to take the Broker license examination. If an applicant has ever been convicted of a crime, or is currently on parole or probation their application for a real estate license may be denied.
The law in New Jersey requires all applicants for licensure as a real estate salesperson or broker to possess good character, trustworthiness, honesty and integrity. To enforce this requirement, all applicants for licensure must be fingerprinted and submit to a criminal history background check. The statutory qualifications also include the absence of any conviction for forgery, burglary, robbery, any theft offense other than shoplifting, criminal conspiracy to defraud, or other like offenses within the five years preceding the application for licensure. Should you pass the exam you will be required to sign a form on which your answers to the screening questions referred to above will appear. By signing that form you will certify to the Commission that those answers are truthful and accurate. THAT FORM IS PART OF YOUR APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE.
Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Requirements:
Applicant must have a high school education or equivalency. Must successfully complete 150 hours of pre-licensure education. Applicants must first complete a 90-hour general real estate course, and then two 30-hour courses on Agency/Ethics and Office Management.